Grand Theft Threshold in California Increased To $950
California has increased the minimum threshold for grand theft on personal property to $950. On August 24, the California Senate passed Assembly Member Tom Ammiano’s bill to increase the threshold. Previously, anyone convicted of stealing $400 worth of goods or more could be charged with grand theft. Now the value of the items stolen must exceed $950 for the crime to be charged as grand theft. This is a significant change to the law for anyone charged with theft in California as the penalties for grand theft are substantially harsher then those for petty theft or shoplifting.
There are exceptions to this new $950 threshold. For example, when farm crops or aquacultural products are stolen, the minimum threshold for grand theft is only $250. Also, stealing guns or motor vehicles will result in grand theft charges, regardless of the value of the items.
Under the new bill, theft of items valued under $950 may result in a misdemeanor charge, up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Theft of goods valued over $950 may result in a misdemeanor or felony charge and up to three years in state prison. Grand theft of a firearm may result in 16 months to three years in state prison and grand theft auto may lead to one year in state prison and a $5,000 fine.
Whether you are facing petty theft, shoplifting or grand theft charges, it is important that you seek the counsel of an experienced Los Angeles grand theft crime defense attorney. The lawyers at Sitkoff & Hanrahan have the knowledge and experience it takes to fight these charges and help get your Los Angeles or Orange County drug charges dismissed or reduced. If you have been charged with petty theft, shoplifting or grand theft, please contact our law office at 866-430-8383 for a free consultation and case evaluation.