California Will Enforce Stricter DUI Laws In 2012
On September 27, a new bill which penalizes repeat DUI offenders was signed into law by Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger. According to a report by the San Mateo County Times, under the new DUI law, drunk drivers who have been convicted of driving under the influence three times in 10 years could lose their licenses for a decade. California Assemblyman Jerry Hill believes that the new DUI law will take away up to 10,000 drivers’ licenses. The new law enforcement will begin January 1, 2012.
This new law is another attempt to crack down on DUI offenders in California. While the intent of the law is to penalize repeat offenders, it may have a devastating impact on drivers and the families of those who are wrongfully convicted of a California DUI. Losing your license for 10 years can seriously and adversely impact your life.
With this new California DUI law, if you are wrongfully charged with a first- or second-time DUI and you choose to accept the penalties, you are leaving the door open for future problems. This law is like the "three strikes law" – only instead of going to prison for the rest of your life, you lose your driving privileges for a decade.
Please do not let this happen to you. If you or a loved one has been accused of driving under the influence, the California drunk driving lawyers of Takakjian & Sitkoff can help. We will aggressively fight your charges, represent you at DMV hearings and help you keep your license. Call our office at 1-866-430-8383 for a free and confidential consultation.