New California Law for DUI Drivers

A new California law, which took effect last month, requires mandatory ignition interlock devices on motor vehicles owned and operated by motorists convicted of driving on a suspended license due to a previous alcohol-related conviction. According to this news report, a person who is required and fails to install an ignition interlock device is guilty of a misdemeanor. One who falls into the category of driving with a suspended license for a DUI-related conviction will be assessed a $40 administrative fee for verification of the device’s installation. For more information, please visit the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Web site (www.dmv.ca.gov).

Driving under the influence is a serious offense in California. It can be prosecuted as a misdemeanor or as a felony in California depending on the nature of the incident, the seriousness of injuries and the driver’s level of intoxication. In California, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or higher. It is also illegal in California to drive under the influence of drugs – be it recreational or prescription drugs.

Whether you are convicted of a first-time DUI offense or you are a repeat offender, it is critical that if you are charged with drunk driving that you contact a skilled and experienced Los Angeles criminal defense lawyers who have successful track records of handling drunk driving cases. If you have no prior DUI convictions, the knowledgeable DUI defense lawyers in Los Angeles at Takakjian & Sitkoff may be able to get your charges dismissed or get alternative sentencing such as community service or alcohol/drug counseling. If you are a repeat offender, we can assist you in many ways and may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed! Please call us today at 866-430-8383 for a free consultation.

Source article: http://www.myvalleynews.com/story/39309/

Contact Information