California has a long history of initiating harsh penalties on drivers convicted of driving under the influence. Even a first offense for drunk driving can lead to serious consequences. If you are over 21-years-old and are convicted of driving under the influence in California, you are facing:
- Suspension or revocation of your driving license
- Significant fees and fines
- Jail time
- Mandatory alcohol/drug treatment programs
- Impoundment of your vehicle or the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
Any adult convicted of a DUI will be jailed for at least 48 hours. Considering the potential loss of wages, the fines and the potential increase in your car insurance, a single DUI conviction can quickly become extremely expensive. These are the minimum potential penalties. If you are involved in an accident that results in personal injuries or death, the penalties can become much more severe.
An experienced Los Angeles DUI accident defense attorney will fight for the best possible outcome in your case. Skilled attorneys will often investigate whether all of a person’s legal rights were upheld during his or her arrest. In many instances, the charges being held against an individual may be reduced if proper procedures were not carried out by law enforcement during a vehicle stop or an arrest. In other situations, a defense attorney can even get your charges dismissed.
The aggressive and knowledgeable DUI defense lawyers at Takakjian & Sitkoff aggressively fight for our clients. Calling 866-430-8383 today will connect you with a California criminal defense attorney ready to provide you with a free consultation for your case. Call us today to find out how we can help. Do not face these potentially life-changing charges alone.