A 41-year-old Orange County man was arrested on February 9, 2010 for driving while intoxicated after a succession of hit and run crashes culminated in an estimated $75,000 worth of damage to a local storefront; according to a Corona Del Mar Today article. The alleged drunk driver drove his SUV onto the sidewalk and into trees, signs and a planter before crashing into the front of a psychic shop in Corona Del Mar, wedging his vehicle about a quarter of the way into the building. The man declined medical treatment and was arrested for DUI at the scene. He also faces possible charges for leaving the scene of an accident which can be charged as misdemeanor hit and run.
If a person is convicted of drunk driving, current California DUI penalties for first-time offenders incur a minimum sentence of a $390 fine, jail time and a six-month license suspension. Subsequent offenses can rack up more than a year in jail, fines of up to $1,000 and a license suspension of several years. Judges also have the discretion to require persons convicted of DUI to install an Ignition Interlock Device IID, undergo drug and alcohol treatment programs and participate in community service.
A DUI offense coupled with another crime, such as vehicular manslaughter, can result in felony DUI charges that carry even heftier sentences and prison. Although a drunk driver may not intend to cause a collision, to inflict pain or to cause someone’s death; a prosecutor can argue that driving while intoxicated was an act of criminal negligence and this can result in a jail sentence.
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor or felony DUI, the Southern California drunk driving defense attorneys at Takakjian & Sitkoff have a wealth of experience in defending an array of individuals concerning DUI and drunk driving offenses. Call our Orange County DUI offices at 866-430-8383 to schedule a free and confidential consultation. We will defend your rights and work to reach a successful outcome in your case.