New Law Requires Ignition Interlock Devices for DUI Offenders
A new California law, effective this year, requires anyone convicted of DUI in Los Angeles County to install an ignition interlock device in his or her vehicle. According to news reports, Los Angeles is one of seven California counties where this pilot program goes into effect starting July 1, 2010. What this law means is that even if you have been convicted of drunk driving for the first time, you need to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
What is an ignition interlock device or IID? Basically, these are devices that require you to blow into them. If the device detects alcohol from your breath, it will not let you start the vehicle. The devices may be pre-programmed to measure the level of alcohol in your breath. For example, you could have it set or the court could order you to have it set at 0.02 (approximately one drink). Therefore, if you blow a 0.02 or more, you will not be able to start your vehicle and you would potentially be in violation of your drunk driving probation and be sent to jail.
If you are ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed, you will have to pay the fees for renting the IID alcohol detection device and for having it installed in your vehicle. The installation could cost you anywhere between $100 and $200. The monthly rental fee can range from $70 to $100. These fees do not include the additional charges for maintenance or having the device calibrated.
As you can see, this new DUI law is an added expense for DUI offenders, on top of several others including alcohol education, penalties, and fees. If you have been charged with drunk driving in Los Angeles, Orange or Ventura counties, please call the skilled California DUI defense lawyers at Sitkoff & Hanrahan for a free and confidential DUI consultation. If you have been arrested for drunk driving, you may not have to go to jail or pay thousands in fines and other penalties. Call us today at 866-430-8383 to find out how we can help.