New California Law Will Require DUI Offenders to Install Ignition Interlock Devices

A new California law requires that first-time DUI offenders to install ignition interlock devices (IIDs) in their vehicles. There is no question that California is one of the states that gets the most publicity for an increased number of DUI arrests, with a number of them involving celebrities.

What does this law mean for those arrested for a DUI? The new law requires offenders to install ignition interlock devices in any of their motor vehicles that they own or drive. The IIDs work in the same manner as a breathalyzer would: In order to be able to start the vehicle, a driver would have to blow into the device. The vehicle will not start if the person’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit. In California, it is illegal to drive with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher. These devices also require the driver to stop and perform the test repeatedly at random intervals to ensure the driver is not driving drunk.

Ignition interlock devices come at a price. It could cost an individual up to $125 up front and about $60 monthly. Under the new law, first-time offenders must have these devices installed for at least five months. Second-time offenders are required to have the IID in their vehicle for a year, and a third-time DUI offender will have the IID for two years. If the DUI caused an injury, those periods will automatically double.

If you are facing drunk driving charges in southern California, please call the criminal defense attorneys at Takakjian & Sitkoff. Our skilled and experienced Los Angeles DUI defense lawyers have helped numerous clients get their drunk driving charges dismissed or reduced. Call us today at 866-430-8383 to find out how we can help.

Contact Information