A 41-year-old woman has been charged with committing lewd acts with a 14-year-old boy. According to a CBS Los Angeles news report, the woman was arrested at her Irvine home. Officials say the alleged incidents occurred between the part-time teacher’s aide and the boy at her home over a six-week period. The report does not contain information regarding what types of activities occurred or what evidence officials have against the teacher.
Under California Penal Code 288, lewd acts are prohibited with a minor under the age of 14 or with a minor who is 14 or 15 and is at least 10 years younger than the accused. There are many types of acts that may be considered molestation or sexual abuse. Seemingly harmless acts, such as touching bare skin or touching a minor’s body through his or her clothing, are considered lewd acts if the intent is sexual gratification.
The nature and extent of the charges usually depend on the circumstances of the incident, the seriousness of the alleged crimes, the age of the victim, and the defendant’s criminal history. Cases involving force or violence could involve increased penalties. While misdemeanor child molestation charges can result in a one-year county jail sentence, a felony conviction could result in up to eight years in the state prison and a $10,000 fine.
The Irvine sex crime defense attorneys at Takakjian & Sitkoff have a long history of handling sex crime cases in southern California. If you or a loved one is facing sex crime charges in Orange County, please contact us at (866) 430-8383 for a no-cost consultation.