As the law stands now, persons under the age of 21 may have their license suspended for one year if they are found with alcohol in their system, if their license had been previously revoked in connection with a DUI conviction. Revisions to the law will make violations to the existing vehicle code a crime. Drivers who have a commercial driver’s license or who are under the age of 21 could face criminal charges for driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .04 percent. Additionally, it would be a crime to be arrested for driving under the influence if the under-aged driver was already on probation for driving with a BAC of .01 percent or higher.
Under California Vehicle Code Section 23152, it is against California law to operate with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. Those under the age of 21, however, have stiffer regulations. According to California Vehicle Code 23136: “It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 years who has a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.01 percent or greater, as measured by a preliminary alcohol screening test or other chemical test, to drive a vehicle.”
If you or a family member has been charged with driving under the influence, it is important that you seek legal guidance from a skilled Southern California DUI defense attorney right away. In some cases, a DUI defense lawyer can have the charges lessened or dismissed before it even goes to trial. The consequences of a Orange County underage DUI can be a lot more severe than expected, especially with these changes in the law.