New California Child Abuse Law Increases Penalties

California Penal Code 273 was amended in January 2011 to expand the penalties for the abuse of a child under the age of 8. Under the revised law, those found guilty of abusing a child who is 8 years of age or under, causing the child major bodily injuries or death, could now face harsher penalties.

California Penal Code Section 273 (a) was created to penalize individuals who are found guilty of causing great bodily injury resulting in the death of a child in their custody under the age of 8. Anyone convicted of this crime could face 25 years to life in prison. California Penal Code 283a (b) now extends these same penalties to individuals whose offense against a child causes a comatose condition due to brain injury or permanent paralysis.

Child abuse is a serious problem in our society. There is no question that individuals who cause serious harm to young children must be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. However, if you have been falsely accused of child abuse or if you have been arrested because of a misunderstanding, you deserve to have those charges aggressively defended. The consequences and penalties for a conviction of child abuse are life-changing.

If you have been accused of child abuse or child endangerment, please contact the experienced Los Angeles criminal defense lawyers at Takakjian & Sitkoff to discuss your case. We have a long and successful track record of fighting for the rights of parents and caregivers who have been wrongfully accused of child abuse or child endangerment. Please contact us at 866-430-8383 to find out how we can help.

Contact Information